The Moderator of the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Wales is responsible for chairing meetings of the General Assembly. He or she holds office for one year.

The Moderator is a member of every Board of the General Assembly, as are the Moderator Elect and the immediate Past Moderator. The Moderator also represents the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Wales in the media, at national ecumenical occasions and in the chief courts of other Churches, as well as in major overseas celebrations, particularly those held by the Presbyterian Church of India. He or she is also invited to attend Presbytery and Association meetings and to represent the PCW at occasions such as the induction services of new workers.

On the second evening of the General Assembly, the Moderator traditionally gives a valedictory address and the Moderator Elect then assumes the chair. The Moderator Elect is elected by secret ballot during the Assembly. Three candidates are nominated by the Association in the three Provinces in turn.

The Moderator is not head of the Presbyterian Church of Wales: the Lord God is head of the Church, so the Presbyterian Church of Wales does not have a person as spiritual leader.

Moderator Elect for 2020-21


The Moderator Elect for 2020-2021 is Reverend Evan Morgan, Cardiff.

The Rev Evan Morgan was born and raised on the outskirts of North London, a third generation of London Welsh, the family originating from Carmarthenshire. He was educated in local primary and secondary schools and was raised at Wood Green chapel in the London Presbytery. After sensing a call, he presented himself for the ministry when he was eighteen years old. He graduated in Theology and followed a pastoral course at the United Theological College at Aberystwyth. He accepted a call in 1989 to the Trefaldwyn Uchaf Presbytery, to pastor Maengwyn church and the English Chapel in Machynlleth; Pantperthog, Forge, Derwenlas and Melinbyrhedyn. In 1999, he accepted a call to be minister of Salem, Canton and Bethel, Rhiwbina in Cardiff, where the emphasis is on outreach to the wider community, including working with the homeless and with families, children and youth. During the last few years there has been a significant increase in that church’s membership as it welcomed many new families who have settled in the city. He was vice-chair of the Mission Board for a time (before the Connexional restructuring). He is a member of the Church and Society Department and was Moderator of the Association in the South, 2018-19. He loves reading, travelling and socialising. He accepted an invitation to deliver the Davies Lecture at the General Assembly last year.    

Current Moderator for 2019-20

The current Moderator for 2019-20 is Reverend Marcus Wyn Robinson, Caernarfon.

Born and bred in Caernarfon he started preaching at the age of eighteen. After graduating in Theology and completing the Pastoralia Course he started his ministry in Llanberis and Nant Peris, Arfon Presbytery in 1978. He accepted the call to serve as a Chaplain in the Royal Navy in 1982 and after a varied career on land and sea he retired at the turn of the century having completed a term as Secretary of the Naval Chaplaincy Service. He returned to serve in Wales as the Industrial Chaplain for North East Wales together with pastoral care of Rhostyllen and Acrefair churches in the Wrexham area. In 2007 he was recalled full circle to the Arfon Presbytery as the minister of Bethel, Brynrefail, Caeathro, and Llanrug. Since 2010 he has served as the Ecumenical Officer of the Presbyterian Church of Wales and by now is also the Chair of the Commission of Covenanted Churches in Wales. He is the Secretary of the Association in the North.


Past Moderators


Revd Brian Matthews

Revd Brian Huw Jones


Prof John Gwynfor Jones

Revd Elwyn Richards

Revd Neil Kirkham

Revd Trefor Lewis

Revd Dafydd Andrew Jones

Revd Robert Owen Roberts

Revd Iain Hodgins

Revd Gwenda Richards